skip navigation


By New York Boulders Baseball, 04/17/20, 10:30AM EDT


The first position on the New York Boulders’ All-Decade team has been decided with Marcus Nidiffer securing the spot behind the plate as the catcher. 

As part of the New York Boulders’ Bould Decade celebrating the franchise’s first 10 years of play, fans have been voting to fill one position on our All-Decade team each week for eight successive weeks. 

Up first was the catching position with the ballot sponsored by Nelson Metals of West Haverstraw. Voting concluded on Thursday, April 16. 

Nidiffer played for the Boulders for five seasons from 2014 through 2018. Over that time, he hit 89 home runs and had three years with 20 or more dingers. In 2015, he had career highs in homers with 22 and RBIs with 93, while hitting .256. A member of the 2014 Can-Am League championship team, Nidiffer saved his best season for his final go-round with the Boulders when he hit a career-best .287 while hitting 21 home runs and driving in 60 runs. 

Nidiffer retired after the 2018 season. 

In a field that included Billy Alvino (2012-13), Adam Ehrlich (2019), Scott Knazek (2013) and Landis Wilson (2012), Nidiffer grabbed 85% of the votes. 

“If you play long enough, you win something,” Nidiffer joked. “I do love Rockland and I miss it every day.” 

He added, “I am happy to be a part of the All-Decade team.” 

Voting for the All-Decade team is continuing this week as fans have the opportunity to select a starting pitcher from a group of nine hurlers who excelled for the Boulders. The starting pitcher voting is sponsored by Clarkstown Collision of Nanuet. 

Fans can cast their vote for their top pitcher through Thursday, April 23, by sliding to The top two vote finishers will earn spots on the All-Decade team. 

The final results will be announced during a Podcast on the Boulders’ Facebook page on Friday, April 24, at 9:30 a.m., hosted by Seth Cantor, the voice of the Boulders and the Vice-President of Business Development. 

Altice cable television in Rockland County will also rebroadcast each week’s All-Decade team announcement every Thursday morning at 9:30 a.m. on channel 76, except for channel 77 in Ramapo and channel 15 in North Rockland. 

Debuting in 1993, the Frontier League is the largest and longest-running of the modern independent leagues and features teams stretching from the Atlantic Ocean to the Mississippi River and from the Ohio River to the St. Lawrence Seaway. More information and the complete 2020 schedule can be found at